Spring Yarn Wreath

I was off of work on Friday so I decided to make a new wreath because I didn’t have one for spring yet. I searched through Pintrest and had a couple of ideas. I headed to Joann’s with coupons in hand and settled on trying out a yarn wreath with felt flowers. I bought everything I needed for 11 dollars. Thank you coupons! I love Joann’s because they let you use multiple coupons at once.

Here are the supplies I assembled, a foam wreath, yarn, felt in different colors, yellow rick rack and then I also had a wood “G” which I ended up not using. So I will save that for another project.

20130331-151250.jpg

So I started off by wrapping the yarn around the wreath and tying a knot in the back. I then proceeded to wrap the yarn tightly around the wreath. Now this for me took a long time. It might be the type of wreath I chose or because I’m a little OCD sometimes. Either way it took me awhile but I turned to my DVR and settled in for some work. Tyler was kind enough to come home and do the last bit for me.

20130331-151328.jpg

20130331-151340.jpg

After finishing the yarn all the way around the wreath I then proceeded to make felt flowers. I searched a lot online to find a good tutorial on how to do it then I had Tyler read it and he helped me with these. What a good husband right?

20130331-151408.jpg

So to begin you cut a wavy circle from the felt. For my larger dark purple flowers I did one big circle from each piece. So you take that wavy circle and begin cutting it in a circular motion and keep cutting until you get to the end. At the end you will have a small circle which you should keep intact.

20130331-151430.jpg

Your next step is to start at the smaller end without the circle and start rolling it up tightly. I tried to keep the wavy end lined up with each other as I continued to circle around. That way once I was done it had a little flowery look to it. It’s hard to explain, it’s a little bit of trial and error. Just wrap it tightly and once you get to the end you will place the circle on the back of the flower.

20130331-151447.jpg

Once I got the circle to the back of the flower I hot glued it down then proceeded to add hot glue wherever I felt like it was needed on the outside of the flower. Then viola, felt flower! They were a lot easier than I had anticipated. Mine don’t look perfect by any means but I thought they turned out pretty good for my first go at it!

20130331-151456.jpg

For the smaller light purple flowers I did two circles per piece of felt. I then took some yellow rick rack and wrapped it around the wreath and hot glued it on in the back.

20130331-151504.jpg

So after that I hot glued the flowers to the wreath in the lay out that I wanted. I then used some yarn to hang it up. Hanging the wreaths is always where I struggle so let me know if you have any great ideas for that?

I was very excited about how this turned out! I love it and it is very springy but can also be used in other seasons too!

Source: How to Make a Yarn Wreath for All Seasons

One thought on “Spring Yarn Wreath

  1. Pingback: Fencing in the newest member of the Glovers- By Tyler | Keeping up with the Glovers

Leave a Reply

