Crock Pot French Toast

This meal made me so happy! It was my first crock pot breakfast success. After a failed attempt at crock pot oatmeal and crock pot grits I decided I could not give up. So I tried again with crock pot french toast and it turned out delicious! I have not had monkey bread in awhile but this reminded me of monkey bread. Delicious, you must try it!

Ingredients:
1 loaf of bread (You can use any kind, I bought a loaf of french bread)
7 eggs
2 1/2 cups of milk
1 tsp. cinnamon (I just sprinkled the cinnamon in, I didn’t measure so I probably used more)
Filler & Topping
1/2 cup butter softened
3/4 cup brown sugar (firmly packed)
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon (once again I just sprinkled to my hearts content)

Directions:
1. Chop up the bread into cubes
2. Spray crock-pot with cooking spray
3. Place the first layer of bread in crock-pot (Use half of the cubed bread)
4. Pour half of the Filler and Topping onto the bread
5. Put the rest of the bread in on top
6. Pour the egg mixture over the bread
7. Pour the remaining Filler and Topping over the mixture
8. Cook on Low for 6 hours (I started mine at about 10 pm and we ate it about 9:30 am and it was fine to sit staying warm in my crock pot over night)

I was so excited when I came downstairs Saturday morning and tasted it and it was so yummy! I turned it back on low and let it cook without the top to try and make the top a little crisp while I made the grits to go with it. It was a delicious and easy breakfast! It would also make a delicious crock pot dessert, whatever your preference. I hope you all enjoy my first breakfast crock pot success. I hope there will be many more to come. Do any of you have good breakfast crock pot recipes? I am always open to new ones to try as I am trying to expand my recipe collection in that area!

20130422-095808.jpg

20130422-095823.jpg

 

Adapted from: Today’s Creative Blog

17 thoughts on “Crock Pot French Toast

  1. No way! I didn’t know you could make French toast in the crock pot! I really want to try this! Thanks for sharing at Time To Sparkle!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this with Foodie Friends Friday Crock Pot Party. I love easy recipes and French toast so I’m all ready to make this.

    One of the Co-Hosts on Foodie Friends Friday
    Joanne/Winelady Cooks

      • Hi Emily, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve chosen this recipe as my Host Favorite this week. I will share this Monday on G+, my facebook page, pin it, and it will be featured on Daily Dish. I will share the link on my FB page to the direct post where you can pick up a badge.

        Have a great week, and hope to see you next week for Cinco de Mayo.

        Joanne/Winelady Cooks

      • Joanne, Thank you so much for choosing this recipe! I look forward to seeing it on your blog tomorrow. I hope you enjoy it whenever you get the chance to make it! I look forward to next weeks Link Party!

  3. Pingback: You all love your crock pots and so do we. There were so many delicious recipes shared with us this week on Foodie Friends Friday Linky Party.~Daily Dish with Foodie Friends Friday

Leave a comment